A Tiny House Interlude

24 Mar

This is a life-sized tiny house. Kidding, it's actually about 8ft wide, 13.5ft tall and 16-18ft deep, depending on the model. This is Jay Shafer at his tiny home. He is one of the main faces of the tiny house movement and has lived in tiny homes for the last 13+ years(?).

Ahhh! It’s 1:30am and I have to be up in 6 hours to attend an all day yacht racing seminar (yes!) and I am still up obsessing about tiny houses. I just can’t seem to stop myself.

I’ve been reading about Jonathan’s tiny house build over the last week. He did a wonderful job with an alternative layout to the Fencl, one of Jay Shafer’s designs: split kitchen with bathroom in the back (hitched end), definitely something to consider, and took LOTS of pictures which I appreciate. What to do…What not to do…I didn’t even know I had to do that! The list goes on. And he has a cute dog, Barney. I’ve actually read almost every single post from mid 2009 through late 2011, still a few posts to go.

He was having an issue with coding in a county where he wanted to buy land (huge bummer) and then somehow I got linked to Macy’s blog. She wrote a reaction post to his land situation and the tiny house community’s issue in general of where to set up shop (or a ‘homestead’ I suppose is a more appropriate term). So then I got turned on to her blog and she is in the midst of her own build. Yet another wonderful tiny house project that I can stay up all night reading from the beginning. Like a good tv series…you have to go to the beginning for full effect. Anyway, I am just really inspired to become a part of such a supportive and growing community and have added a place for my fellow tinyhouser’s (term I borrowed from Macy’s site – hope you don’t mind Macy, “tiny house builders/owners” is a bit wordy) links. She has a great page about WHY living in a tiny house is so attractive to her but I think those reasons go for a number of people who choose this lifestyle. Either way it’s a good read.

I also got linked to the Think Big, Build Small: A Tiny House Community on Facebook through Jonathan’s blog. Cool little spot where I asked a question about nails vs screws for framing and finishing…I’m anxiously awaiting opinions and advice.

Anyway, guess I should get some sleep. I’ve noticed my heart gets a lot softer when I talk about tiny homes. Not the way I am writing about…well…everything else.

-Half-price

3 Responses to “A Tiny House Interlude”

  1. Macy M March 24, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    I love our blog, I am adding you to my watch list for sure! Good luck with all of your stuff!

    • Macy M March 25, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

      That was supposed to say ‘your’… typing on the phone never works well 🙂

  2. Eimear Gobshite (sorry) March 26, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    Don’t bring your need to the marketplace, bring your skill. If you don’t feel well, tell your doctor, but not the marketplace. If you need money, go to the bank, but not the marketplace. Jim Rohn

Leave a Reply

