You can’t take it with you: stuff and other clutter.

7 Apr

A few posts ago I mentioned having a very long solo therapy session…I suppose you could say I was NLPing myself (don’t laugh), getting to the root of some of these new ideas evolving in my consciousness lately. What they mean to me, why they matter now and how I’m planning on implementing them in my life. I feel like if I don’t put some of this into practice I might explode. I started looking at all the excess in my life and thinking….I can do with so much less…and would be better off for it either because of money or just to free up space in my brain and my bedroom.

I met back up with some NLP classmates a few days ago for dinner and we got on the topic of ‘stuff’. One friend had basically moved into a friends place several months ago with the clothes on her back and her car. She just now realized that she turned into a gypsy overnight completely by accident and was totally cool with it.

Stuff (noun): a group or scattering of miscellaneous objects or articles, unspecified material (these definitions were not at the top of the list but they hit the nail on the head)

Personally, I have all this ‘stuff’ and it’s driving me nuts. I have boxes in my closet that I moved to LA with. Literally the same boxes that I shipped from Pittsburgh to a storage unit in Gardena…they still have the shipping labels on them. And about once every year I think “hey what ever happened to that thing…oh it’s in the box next to the other thing”. I spend an hour figuring out which box to open, open it, retrieve what I need, close it up, put it back in the closet…and there is sits for another 12 months collecting dust.

I think sometimes the stuff we have really holds us back. That certainly holds true for me. I’m gonna get a bit out there and I hope you all don’t mind. Everything is energy, literally. All my old stuff holds energy from when I actually use to use it. For better or for worse it’s simply not a part of this current version of me and having those things around doesn’t help in my personal evolution. And if not the energy itself effecting me just knowing that it’s there occupies some amount of brain power on a regular basis. I don’t know about you but I don’t have a ton of brain capacity to spare. I’m running on overdrive in my head a lot these days.

There is a path between my door and my bed that I almost never deviate from. I go right once a day to get clothes out of my closet, and go left to my top drawer only for socks and skivvies. I have a queen sized bed, half of which acts as my laptop and paperwork…’holding spot’. *sigh* Okay, lets get real. My closet is storage, my desk is a catch all and the other half of the bed is covered in books, paperwork and whatever I was too uncomfortable to continue to wear all last night. And this is when my room is clean! I’m actually very organized but I simply have too much stuff. I have 2 jars FILLED with writing utensils yet I can never find anything that I WANT to write with. (Odd example but go with me here. After all, most things are a microcosm of the larger picture.) This is both wasteful and petty. I’m gonna start using every pen/pencil/dry erase marker/highlighter/sharpie I have until they run all the way down or run out. seriously I feel like this alone will make me feel better. I NEVER walk around the other side of my bed. its literally an entire half of my room that I never set foot on. it gets vacuumed only to make both sides of the carpet look the same…ridiculous.

but I digress. let me get to the point because I do have one.

I require very little to be happy.

  • Limited use of my current belongings: Other than my laptop and accessories there is NOTHING that I use daily. My dry erase board and my oven/stove I use almost daily. There are 10 shelves of books filled with college textbooks I thought might become relevant again, empty DVD cases that I put up to look cool I guess (the actual disks are in a huge album in the ugly or oversized portion of my shelf), film books that are just a reminder of how unattached I am to the industry at this point, old journals that I should fill before buying new ones. I own clothes that still have tags on them (from grandma’s who didn’t grasp the narrowness of my preferred wardrobe until very recently), other clothes that are too big for me (left over from my baggy is cool phase),
  • Limited use of my currently oversized living space: I already touched on this and will downsize my stuff before looking for a smaller place.
  • My unattached lifestyle: I’m a single, virtual professional with no dependents, no pets and no extraneous vehicles.

Making a smaller footprint on the Planet.

  • Use less natural resources: I think a really funny thing happens when all the water you have at your disposal lives in a 15 gallon tank under your house. “Conservation consciousness” wraps it up pretty well and something to expound upon in a future post.
  • Create less trash: This actually starts at the purchasing phase. Buying at the farmers market instead of the grocery story, buying cereal, nuts, grain, everything in bulk cloth bags instead of in traditional packaging, and the easiest of them all that I constantly forget…reusable grocery bags. All this helps reduce our trash output dramatically.

Less expensive living.

  • Minimized utilities – this is worthy of its own post so I’ll hold off.
  • Live rent/mortgage free – I’ve always found paying someone else’s mortgage wasteful. With rent inflated as it is it’s almost the same as paying your own mortgage. Obviously without all the homeowner responsibilities but you don’t get any of the benefits either.

PRIDE

  • I want to build the home I live in and work for what sustains me – Again this is another post entirely (hence the cont’d below) but I really feel strongly about being connected with the home I live in, the food I eat, and the energy I use. Right now I’m not and a void is starting to open. If I were the one responsible for sustaining myself instead of shopping for it in the grocery aisle, so to speak, I think I would look at my life a lot differently.

cont’d in WHAT SUSTAINS ME

Leave a Reply

