Archive | 12:18 pm

Kickstarter, a step in the right direction

25 Jul

I dont know if I have ever been so nervous in my whole life. Possibly because this is the first time in a long time that I feel I am on the road to something good; that simultaneously feeds my soul, helps others and is an outlet for my creativity. I finally took the plunge and started the Kickstarter process (and it IS a serious process, even just to get the project live takes a long time) which has seemed to be the release for a blockage for everything else in my life. I’ve been using work, editing, transcribing, general fidgeting and fiddling, to avoid starting and the second I decided to GO everything else fell in line. Two new clients, got offered unexpected money from someone else…things are just moving right along…

In terms of the house, my design is done although over the last couple months I’ve considered modifying it a bit more. The budget is as accurate as it will be considering I’m using as many recycled and green building materials as possible. I’ve made a few visits to the local Habitat for Humanity Restore. By the way…they have AWESOME stuff. Some of it’s brand new, left over I assume from large orders at nearby building sites. Recessed and track lighting in perfect condition. Doors and windows galore. Sconces in unopened boxes. And I’ve got 3 resources for recycled lumber for interior and exterior siding that I have yet to visit.

This is the camera we used on a project I produced back in ’09. I’m hiding behind the camera (you can see a sliver of my brown skin & blue shirt, lol). For my upcoming doc I’ll probably choose something a bit more manageable 😛

As for the project, it has grown so much bigger than I could have ever imagined and I still have yet to start the fundraising! What started out as me documenting a building project with my filmmaker friends has turned into a full fledged go-green/sustainable living documentary, with a growing list of interviewees, a good friend and AMAZING cinematographer has signed on to shoot it, and I’ll be taking the house on tour to teach sustainable workshops in LA communities and schools starting next year. Things grow fast when you’re on the right path!

So anyway, lots more to do with the Kickstarter prep but I’m a lot less nervous since I had a gift brainstorming session with a friend. So there will be some REALLY awesome stuff in addition to the typical finished DVDs that most film Kickstarter projects offer.

As for interviewees my lips are sealed at the moment for who I’m contacting but if you or anyone you know personally or in the tiny house/sustainable living blogosphere might be interested in sharing their story please do let me know. You can read more about the film specifics here. Check it out and see if your story is a good fit for the film!